Illustration of asteroids moving past a planet
Video, 9 mins

Sounds of the Cosmos: The Milky Way


Embark on a breathtaking voyage to the outer limits of the universe with Gustav Holst’s astronomical tour-de-force The Planets. In this filmed orchestral performance, Holst’s monumental music is combined with short talks about the cosmos and spectacular visuals.

In the fourth chapter - The Milky Way - Paul Crowther provides an overview of the content of our Milky Way galaxy, including its central supermassive black hole, our satellite galaxies and the future merger of our Milky Way and Andromeda, enhanced by stunning images from ESO telescopes and NASA spacecraft.



The Film

  • Music performed by Sheffield Rep Orchestra
  • Visuals by Humanstudio


See also